Academic Council

  • James Ceaser, Chairman
    Professor of Politics and Director of Program on Constitutionalism and Democracy, University of Virginia
  • Wilfred M. McClay, Vice Chairman
    Victor Davis Hanson Chair in Classical History and Western Civilization, Hillsdale College
  • Daniel Cullen
    Professor of Political Science and Director of The Project for the Study of Liberal Democracy, Rhodes College
  • Ralph Lerner
    Benjamin Franklin Professor Emeritus in the Committee on Social Thought, University of Chicago
  • Harvey Mansfield
    William R. Kennan, Jr. Professor of Government, Harvard University, and a 2004 recipient of the National Humanities Medal from President George W. Bush
  • Michael Munger
    Professor of Political Science, Professor of Economics and Public Policy, and Director of the Politics, Philosophy and Economics Program, Duke University
  • Peter Onuf
    Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation Professor, University of Virginia
  • Lorraine Pangle
    Professor of Government and Co-Director of the Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas, University of Texas-Austin
  • Thomas Pangle
    Joe R. Long Chair in Democratic Studies and Co-Director of the Jefferson Center for the Study of Core Texts and Ideas, University of Texas-Austin
  • Sandra Peart
    Dean of the Jepson School of Leadership Studies, University of Richmond, and former President of the History of Economics Society
  • Colleen Sheehan
    Director of Graduate Studies, School of Civic and Economic Thought and Leadership, Arizona State University
  • Steven Smith
    Professor of Political Science, Master of Branford College 1996-2011, and Co-Director of the Yale Center for the Study of Representative Institutions, Yale University
  • David Spadafora
    President and Librarian, Newberry Library, Chicago
  • Barry Strauss
    Professor of History, Professor of Classics and Chair, Department of History, Cornell University
  • John Tomasi
    President, Heterodox Academy
  • Bernhardt Trout
    Raymond F. Baddour, ScD, (1949) Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of MIT Benjamin Franklin Project, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Gordon Wood
    Alva O. Way Professor Emeritus of History, Brown University, and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of “The Radicalism of the American Revolution"
  • Jean Yarbrough
    Gary M. Pendy Professor of Social Sciences and Chair of the Government Department, Bowdoin College
  • Michael Zuckert
    Nancy Reeves Dreux Professor Emeritus of Political Science, University of Notre Dame
  • John Zumbrunnen
    Professor of Political Science and Director of the American Democracy Forum, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • In memoriam: John Strassburger, President, Ursinus College, 1995-2010